Select Page
Commissioning of USS Paul Ignatius

Commissioning of USS Paul Ignatius

Saturday, July 27, 2019, the United States Navy commissioned the USS Paul Ignatius (DDG117) in Port Everglades, Florida. 

Commander Robby Trotter is the 2nd officer to come from a historically black college or university (HBCU) to serve as the Commissioning Commanding Officer for the USS Paul Ignatius, the world’s most advanced destroyer. 

Becoming One Navy Team – Diversity News

Becoming One Navy Team – Diversity News

Article posted on Navy Live, 7-25-2019

On the 71st anniversary of President Harry S. Truman’s signing of the Executive Orders 9980 and 9981, mandating equality of treatment and opportunity for all persons in the armed services and federal government regardless of race, color, religion, or national origin, Chief of Naval Operations Adm. John Richardson addresses the essential role diversity plays in helping the U.S. Navy remain the world’s most decisive and lethal naval force:

Team, today marks a historic day for our Navy and our military.

Read Full Article

National Montford Point Marine Association Convention


R 021857Z JUL 19
GENTEXT/REMARKS/1. This MARADMIN announces the 2019 54th National Montford Point Marine Association (NMPMA), Incorporated Convention from 29-31 August 2019 at the Renaissance Charlotte Suites Hotel, 2800 Coliseum Centre Drive, Charlotte, North Carolina 28217. Lieutenant General Vincent R. Stewart (USMC, Ret.), former U.S. Cyber Command Deputy Commander, will be the guest speaker during the awards banquet on 30 August 2019.
2. The mission of the NMPMA is “to promote and preserve the strong bonds of friendship born from shared adversities and to devote ourselves to the furtherance of these accomplishments to ensure more peaceful times.”
3. CMC (MPE) will sponsor a limited number of conference/registration fees and all related travel expenses. Commanders are encouraged to authorize Temporary Additional Duty for Marines, civilian Marines, and Sailors who are attached to their units. Local travel is authorized for members in the local area. All Marine Corps funded participation must coordinate through the HQMC MRA Opportunity, Diversity, and Inclusion Branch (MPE). Reservations will be given on a first-come first-served basis. Rental cars are not authorized.
4. Marines not funded by MPE may register using their personal funds by accessing the Montford Point Marine Association website, or by contacting the convention director at or 504-202-8552. The registration fee is 525 dollars. Commanders are encouraged to authorize special liberty or leave for Marines to attend. Marines in a special liberty and/or leave status will be required to pay their own per diem, travel expenses, and registration fees.
5. Marines may contact the MPE POC to obtain conference reservations NLT 6 Aug 19.
6. The uniform of the day for Marines attending the conference is Service “C” with ribbons. The uniform for the awards banquet is Evening Dress Blue “B” or Service “A”.
7. NMPMA is a non-federal entity wholly independent of the Marine Corps. More information can be found on the NMPMA website at
8. This MARADMIN is applicable to the Marine Corps Total Force.
9. Release authorized by SES M. R. Strobl, Deputy Director, Manpower Plans and Policy Division.//

JO IN THE SPOTLIGHT – LT Christina Johns Williams, USN

JO IN THE SPOTLIGHT – LT Christina Johns Williams, USN


Lieutenant Christina Johns Williams is a native of Atlanta, GA. She earned a Bachelor of Science in History from the U.S. Naval Academy in 2012, and a Master of Science in Human Resources Development from Villanova University in 2018. She is a certified Professional in Human Resources (PHR).

LT Williams qualified as a Surface Warfare Officer on USS James E. Williams (DDG 95) during her first sea tour. While on board, she deployed twice to the Arabian Gulf and Indian Ocean in 2012 and 2014 in support of the Global War on Terrorism as the Main Propulsion Division Officer. She then transferred to Mayport, FL and served on USS Iwo Jima (LHD 7) as the Main Engines Officer actively participating in Joint Task Force Matthew, humanitarian efforts in Haiti during the aftermath of Hurricane Matthew in 2016.

Ashore, LT Williams serves as the Coordinator for the Secretary of the Navy Tours with Industry program at Navy Personnel Command in Millington, TN. As the SNTWI Coordinator, she facilitates the partnership with corporations that sponsor Navy service members for a year-long fellowship. The SNTWI participants learn best practices from their corporate sponsors and bring innovative ideas to the U.S. Navy. She also serves as the Program Manager for PERS-443 Talent Management Division. As the Program Manager, she drafts approval packages for the funding of Navy sponsored registrations at annual symposiums for the following affinity groups: Academy Women, National Naval Officer Association (NNOA), Sea Service Leadership Association (SSLA), and Association of Naval Service Officers (ANSO).

She transferred to the Human Resources Community in 2017. She will report for her first Human Resources assignment in 2019 at U.S. Fleet Cyber Command in Fort Meade, MD.

Her decorations include the Navy and Marine Corps Commendation Medal, Navy and Marine Corps Achievement Medal (two awards), various unit and campaign awards. She is a national member of the Society of Human Resource Management (SHRM) and the National Naval Officers Association (NNOA). She resides in TN with her husband, LT Tremayne Williams and daughter.

NNOA Welcomes New Members for June 2019

NNOA Welcomes New Members for June 2019

Congratulations to Our New Members

NNOA welcomes the following new members to the organization:  

  • New:
    1. Maj Russell Clarke, USMC – Regular – Quantico
    2. Capt. Salahudin Ali, USMC – Regular – Washington DC
    3. 1stLt Gasner Geffrard, USMC – Regular – Okinawa
    4. LT Donny James, USN – Regular – Tidewater
    5. LCDR Tanya Jones, USN – Regular – Tidewater
    6. 2ndLt Fatima Banks, USMC – Regular – At Large (provided not location info, email sent)
    7. LT Krystle Sowell, USN – Regular – Guam
    8. 2ndLt D. Oduma, USMC – Regular – 29 Palms
    9. LTJG Marcelis Posey, USCG – Regular – Great Lakes
    10. LT Derrick Francis, USN – Regular – Washington DC
    11. Cadet Serheni’te Johnson, USCG – Junior – New England
    12. Mr. Carsie A Hall III, CIV – Affiliate – Okinawa
    13. ENS Evan Carver, USN – Regular – Tidewater
    14. Capt Eric Kaltrider, USMC – Regular – Quantico
    15. LCDR Aaron Thornton, USN – Regular – San Diego
    1. Capt. Marie Banks, USMC – Sub Life 1 – Okinawa
    2. CAPT Robert Watts, USN (Ret) – Regular – At Large (Melbourne, FL)
    3. LCDR Roberto Concepcion, USCG – Regular – Washington DC (NF)
    4. LT Twyla Arbuckle, USN – Regular – San Diego (NF)
    5. CAPT Keith Moore, USN – Regular – Washington, DC (NF)
    6. LCDR Ekon George, USN – Regular – Annapolis (NF)
    1. LT Damico Hill, USN – Lemoore
    2. LCDR Jonathan Harris, USCG – New England
    3. Maj Reginald Thomas III, USMC – Okinawa
    4. LTJG Rahnal Harris, USCG – Great Lakes
    5. Maj Joseph Common, USMC – Camp Lejeune/Cherry Point