Keep updated with what’s going on with our NNOA Members.  Submit your retirement, graduation, promotion or other noteworthy information for general membership to view.


Please submit your announcement requests no later than 30 days prior to the event. Announcements from and about financial members of the NNOA are given priority.

NNOA Member – RDML Cedric Pringle

RDML Cedric Pringle congratulating the Navy’s newly pinned Surface Warfare Officer LTJG Johnathon Hollis (USS CHAMPION – MCM 4).

Elaine Pearson Named Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs

News @ ODU2018MayAVP Pearson
Elaine Pearson Named Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs

By Betsy Hnath
Old Dominion University has named Elaine Pearson associate vice president for academic affairs, effective June 25.

Austin Agho, provost and vice president for academic affairs, said in a letter to the campus community: “She brings to ODU over 30 years of extensive experience and knowledge of higher education, finance and
administration, and a broad framework of leading academic administration operations at public regional comprehensive and doctoral research universities.”

Pearson is executive director for academic and student affairs at the University of Houston-Downtown, where she is responsible for the division’s annual budget, administrative procedures and compliance. She also serves as an adjunct faculty member.

Noting Old Dominion’s “military-friendly campus community,” Agho also highlighted Pearson’s service record.

“She joined the U.S. Navy Reserve in the enlisted rank and retired as Lieutenant Commander (LCDR) after 22 years of dedicated service,” Agho said. “During her military career, LCDR Pearson participated in several operational exercises in support of Operation Noble Eagle for which she was awarded the Navy Achievement Medal (2nd Star) and the Army Achievement Medal.”

Pearson earned her bachelor’s degree in information systems from the University of Houston. She also holds a master’s degree in educational technology and an M.B.A.

She is a board member of Texas Women in Higher Education and a life member of the National Naval Officers Association.

Pearson will replace Jim Duffy, whom Agho thanked for his “many years of effective management and leadership in this position” and his “exceptional years of service” to the University.

Duffy will retire in July but will work closely with Pearson during her transition into the new fiscal year.

Agho also thanked the search committee for the “energy and time they put into the process, and for identifying such a strong candidate.”

U.S. Department of Transportation – Violation of Governmentwide Anti-Lobbying Provision

An important decision for social media users. According to a Government Accountability Office (GAO) report, the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) violated an anti‑lobbying provision in the Financial Services and General Government Appropriations Act, 2017, when it “retweeted” and “liked” a tweet urging followers to “[t]ell Congress to pass” pending legislation. Click here to get the full details. 

Mrs. Bonita Kay Haney “Bonny” wife of ADM Cecil Haney – 2017


On Saturday, October 14, 2017.  Beloved wife of Cecil Haney; loving mother of Elizabeth, Thomas (Shervyse) and Joseph Haney.  She is also survived by her dear mother Freda Thompson; sister Penny Kriesch and niece Erin Burt; wonderful grandchildren TJ, Daniel, and Timothy; sisters-in-law Yvonne Coates and Yvette Morris (CV) and a host of other relatives and friends.  On Friday, October 27 visitation from 4 to 8 pm at the Borgwardt Funeral Home 4400 Powder Mill Road, Beltsville, MD.  On Saturday, October 28  at 11 a.m.service at Hillandale Baptist Church 2601 Powder Mill Rd. Adelphi, Maryland 20783.  Interment George Washington Cemetery in Adelphi, MD.  Arrangements by Borgwardt Funeral Home 301-937-1707.  In lieu of flowers, donations can be made to the Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation, Inc (

CDR Will Watson Promotion


NNOA is very pleased to announce that our Immediate Past President, CDR Will Watson has been selected for promotion to USCG Captain.

Share This